Pregnancy

August 26, 2016 would be the day to change my life forever. That was the day I took my first pregnancy test. I took another 3 days later. Both had a little blue plus sign that indicated I was pregnant. I didn’t know how to react. While I was happy because I’d always wanted to be a mom, a part of me was scared. How do I tell my boyfriend? How do I tell my parents?! My boyfriend actually took it well. We were both happy. But telling my parents was still a scary thing! I finally told my mom, and then my dad and they weren’t all too happy, at first.

Fast forward nine months, my son is 8 weeks old, and my parents can’t get enough of this boy! My mom texts me everyday asking for pictures and videos and my dad calls me to know when I’m going over so they can see him.

Pregnancy for me was quite easy. I never had any morning sickness, I never got swollen ankles and I only gained 19 pounds. I did have a little bit of sciatica pain and quite a lot of heartburn, but in the end, it wasn’t too bad!

Seeing my baby boy in the ultrasounds and hearing his heartbeat were such incredible experiences. When I was 29 weeks pregnant, we got a 3D ultrasound done. It was amazing! For anyone on the fence about getting one, DO IT! It was awesome to get to see my son, and what he’d look like! When I was 19, I had a pulmonary embolism. This affected my pregnancy and I had to give myself Lovenox injections everyday. Lovenox is a blood thinner. This was pre-cautionary as pregnancy raises your hormone levels, which can cause another blood clot. Luckily, I didn’t have any issues, but this also meant I would be induced at 39 weeks. When I was 38 weeks, we did another ultrasound and found out Wyatt was breech. My induction now became an appointment for a c-section. I went in for my c-section appointment and was told that since I had eaten and drank a coffee that morning, they couldn’t operate. No one had told me that I couldn’t. The doctors decided to do another ultrasound, just to make sure Wyatt was still breech. I assumed he would be, as he had been just the day before and I hadn’t felt that much movement. Boy, was I wrong! Wyatt had done a full 360, and was now head down. My c-section was changed back to an induction. I was admitted on April 12. They began my induction by inserting cervidil. Cervidil is a pill inserted into your vagina that can help dilate the cervix. The cervidil started these weak, almost period like cramps. The next step was to get a foley balloon inserted. This was removed once I was 3 centimeters dilated. The doctors then decided to break my water. Getting your water broken was definitely a weird sensation, and a messy one. My body didn’t want to go into active labor on its own, so the next step was pitocin. Pitocin was added into my IV drip and that was when the strong contractions started. Once I hit 6 centimeters I couldn’t take it anymore, and asked for an epidural. The epidural had become my best friend. I had gone from gripping the rails on the bed when a contraction hit, to feeling a whole heck of a lot better. I quickly hit 8 cm, and then fully dilated and ready to push. I had been in labor for 36 hours. I began pushing, 3 pushes during each contraction. I did this 4 times, in 30 minutes. Wyatt Christopher Aylward was born at 9:55pm on August 13, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

